Chicken Cordon Bleu Bread Bowls–Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

Note: Pictures featured in this post were not taken by me and are not mine. They came from the post that featured this recipe @ Mel’s Kitchen Cafe.

 

I told you there’d be more from Mel’s! I just LOVE her blog!

My husband likes Chicken Cordon Bleu alot. I like it on occasion. I ran across this recipe over at Mel’s Kitchen Cafe and decided to give it a try.

Doesn’t that picture look so good? Well, I can assure you that mine didn’t turn out looking as pretty as hers, but it did taste pretty good! I tried to make Mel’s Italian Bread Bowls and that was kind of a joke. Ok, it WAS a joke. They were more like bread saucers! I’m not really sure where I went wrong with them, but they didn’t seem to rise UP as much as they spread OUT. I think my yeast was old though. The inside of the bread bowls was pretty tasty though, especially when dipped into the sauce.

I really want to try to make this again sometime and see if using fresher yeast would help my bread to rise better. There’s not much I would change about the filling part of the meal though. It was good! I did omit the broccoli though and I think if i had put it in there, my kids might have eaten it better. They liked it though, but they also love broccoli so that would have added more yum to their meal though.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 19:32:13

    Hey Amber – I thought I’d tell you that on the bread bowls, I get a lot of people telling me the same thing – that their bread bowls flattened. The key to bread bowls holding their shape is to slightly overflour the dough – you want a stiffer dough than normal, especially since the bread bowls will usually be filled with something liquid. Sometimes when my bread bowls are rising on my baking pans and I notice they seem to be rising out instead of up, I pull each one off one-by-one, knead in about 1 tablespoon more flour and then reshape into a ball. They rise perfectly after that! Glad you liked the flavor of this meal!

    Reply

  2. Amber
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 19:58:29

    Ohhh ok, well I will try that next time then, thanks! I felt like maybe they needed a little more flour, but I was afraid they’d end up rock hard like some buttermilk biscuits I attempted awhile back that I put too much flour into! I’m definitely going to try again though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

