Homemade Spaghetti Sauce–Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

Note: Pictures featured in this post were not taken by me and are not mine. They came from the post that featured this recipe @ Mel’s Kitchen Cafe.


 

We get tired of store bought spaghetti sauce, so when I saw this recipe on Mel’s Kitchen Cafe, I decided to try it. I will say, it was different, but good! I don’t usually put red pepper in my sauce when I make it homemade, so I think that’s what seemed different about it to me. I also didn’t use ground beef, I used frozen meatballs (hubby likes those better than my poor ol’ falling apart meatballs!). I omitted the mushrooms as well. My husband would have loved them, but I am  not a mushroom person and can’t even stand to pick them out of something!

My sauce turned out quite dark in color and that was before adding the balsamic vinegar…I think maybe it could have been from the tomato paste and/or the beef broth. Something tasted a little bitter about it, which I’m sure was something I did wrong somewhere, but not sure what. I added a little extra sugar and a tablespoon of butter to it to help the bitterness, and that did help. I love balsamic vinegar, but had never heard of adding it to spaghetti sauce! It added a nice flavor to it though!

All in all, it was a good recipe and next time I make it, I might tweak it just a bit to suit our tastes better. I will definitely make this again!

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 19:29:20

    Amber – glad this worked out ok and I hope you find even more ways to tweak it to your liking!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

